Videos & Book Trailers

Peek inside the world of Capstone with our videos—book trailers, author interviews, instructional content tutorials, and more! Book trailers in particular are great additions to a booktalking session, captivating student interest, connecting them with characters, and creating excitement for a book. Capstone is proud to be your partner in helping children discover the joy of reading.

Fall 2021 Spotlight

Welcome to Capstone’s new titles spotlight! Get a sneak peak at some of our favorite titles publishing in Fall 2021. From fun picture books and early chapter books to riveting graphic novels and middle grade reads, there is a Capstone book for every reader! 

My Sister, Daisy

Daisy’s older brother is thrilled when he gets a new sibling. They are best buddies who do everything together. But in kindergarten, things change. His sibling tells him she is a girl and wants to be called Daisy. Daisy’s brother must adjust to the change—including what it means for him and their relationship. A powerful, moving picture book based on a true story, My Sister, Daisy handles a sensitive subject with warmth and love.

Mindful Mr. Sloth

Sasha has one speed—fast. She loves to do lots of things, all at once, as fast as possible. Mr. Sloth has one speed—slow. He loves to do things one at a time, at a nice, easy pace. Can Mr. Sloth’s mindful ways teach Sasha to slow down and enjoy life? Best-selling author Katy Hudson gently weaves a mindfulness theme into this unlikely friendship tale between an energetic girl and a sloth, encouraging children to stop, breathe, and be present in every moment.

Let It Grow

A young boy has a pumpkin seed. A very small pumpkin seed. A very small but special pumpkin seed. And what will become of this very small but special seed? He'll only find out if he lets it grow…and grow…and grow! Because sometimes the smallest things can lead to the biggest adventures! In a world full of immediacy and instant gratification, author Mary Ann Fraser plants the seed of patience in her playful picture book about the life cycle of a giant pumpkin and the rewards of letting it grow.

Wilderness Ridge

Authentic hunting and fishing stories are brought to life in this brand-new chapter book series perfect for fans of Jake Maddox. Readers will experience the highs and lows of outdoor adventures—from the thrill of a young hunter’s first deer camp to the disappointment of missing a big fish. No matter the outcome, these stories will demonstrate essential skills young sportsmen and sportswomen need, including teamwork, respect, personal responsibility, and positive thinking. With action-packed illustrations and accessible text, Wilderness Ridge will reel in readers and have them hunting for the next book.

You Choose: Monster Hunters

A new action-packed series in the ever-popular YOU CHOOSE brand, where YOU learn about the world’s most elusive mythical creatures, including Bigfoot, the Loch Ness Monster, the Kraken, and the Chupacabra. Full of life-or-death decisions, this series of interactive books puts you smackdab at the center of the action. Each choice brings you one step closer to becoming an epic monster hunter—or an epic failure. Complete with real-life landmarks, nonfiction back matter, and dozens of possible outcomes, the adventure never ends with You Choose: Monster Hunter!

Mr. Grizley's Class

Mr. Grizley is teacher to a class full of fun, smart, students! With Mr. Grizley’s quiet, kind guidance, these kids love to work, play, and learn together. Each story in this early chapter book series focuses on a different classmate and is especially designed to build social emotional learning skills, complete with a related activity at the end of each story. Read along to hang out with the best class around—Mr. Grizley’s Class!

Eco Crafts

Eco-crafters, gather around! This series is sure to please your eco-conscious crafters, as well as your supply budget. This series is ideal for makerspace activity during Earth Month, and each project is eco-friendly and uses supplies kids already have on hand.

Juneteenth for Mazie

Mazie is ready to celebrate liberty. She is ready to celebrate freedom. She is ready to celebrate a great day in American history. The day her ancestors were no longer slaves. Mazie remembers the struggles and the triumph, as she gets ready to celebrate Juneteenth.

Spring 2021 Spotlight

Welcome to Capstone’s Spring 2021 new titles spotlight! Preview some of our favorite new picture books, #OwnVoices titles, nonfiction to support curricular topics, and all-around great books that are just fun to read. You'll find all of our new Spring releases at www.CapstonePub.com/Spring21.

The Amazing Life of Azaleah Lane

Azaleah can't wait for her class field trip to the National Zoo in Washington D.C., especially when her teacher announces the chance to earn extra credit. But when Azaleah gets home, she quickly realizes extra credit isn't as easy as she thought. Azaleah's younger sister Tiana can't find Greenie, her stuffed animal, and she's sure he's been stolen. With Mama at the restaurant and Daddy at work on a big case, it seems Azaleah is the only one available to track down the stolen stuffie. Can Azaleah get to the bottom of the mystery in time to finish her extra credit?

Help Wanted, Must Love Books

Shailey loves bedtime, especially reading with her dad. But her dad starts a new job, and it gets in the way of their bedtime routine. So Shailey takes action! She fires her dad, posts a Help Wanted sign, and starts interviews immediately. She is thrilled when her favorite characters from fairytales line up to apply. But Sleeping Beauty can't stay awake, the Gingerbread Man steals her book, and Snow White brings along her whole team. Shailey is running out of options. Is bedtime ruined forever? 

My Footprints

Every child feels different in some way, but Thuy feels "double different." She is Vietnamese American and she has two moms. Thuy walks home one winter afternoon, angry and lonely after a bully's taunts. Then a bird catches her attention and sets Thuy on an imaginary exploration. What if she could fly away like a bird? What if she could sprint like a deer, or roar like a bear? Mimicking the footprints of each creature in the snow, she makes her way home to the arms of her moms. Together, the three of them imagine beautiful and powerful creatures who always have courage - just like Thuy.

A Different Pond

A 2018 Caldecott Honor Book that Kirkus Reviews calls "a must-read for our times," A Different Pond is an unforgettable story about a simple event - a long-ago fishing trip. Graphic novelist Thi Bui and acclaimed poet Bao Phi deliver a powerful, honest glimpse into a relationship between father and son - and between cultures, old and new. As a young boy, Bao and his father awoke early, hours before his father's long workday began, to fish on the shores of a small pond in Minneapolis. Unlike many other anglers, Bao and his father fished for food, not recreation. A successful catch meant a fed family. Between hope-filled casts, Bao's father told him about a different pond in their homeland of Vietnam. Thi Bui's striking, evocative art paired with Phi's expertly crafted prose has earned this powerful picture books six starred reviews and numerous awards.

Sadiq

Fun-loving third grader Sadiq and his lively Somali American family. Sadiq has many interests, from soccer to video games to cooking (and eating!) samosas. But he's always ready to try something new! In each book, Sadiq shares a new hobby with friends and neighbors. A natural connector and friend to all, Sadiq invites readers in on the fun of starting clubs and making friends.

Meet Yasmin

Yasmin Ahmad is a spirited second-grader who’s always on the lookout for those "aha" moments to help her solve life's little problems. Taking inspiration from her surroundings and her big imagination, she boldly faces any situation assuming her imagination doesn’t get too big, of course! A creative thinker and curious explorer, Yasmin and her multi-generational Pakistani American family will delight and inspire readers.

Karl's New Beak: 3-D Printing Builds a Bird a Better Life

Karl is an Abyssinian ground hornbill with a special challenge. His lower bill had broken off and made eating difficult. Karl did a great job of adapting and finding new ways to eat, but he wasn't getting all the food he needed. His zookeepers at the National Zoo and friends at the Smithsonian Institute wanted to help. Could an old bird skeleton and a 3-D printer give Karl a new beak? Karl's new adventure was about to begin!

Michael Dahl Presents...

Michael Dahl Presents is a new series of scary, funny and adventurous stories curated by best-selling children’s author Michael Dahl. Michael has found some of his favorite authors to write the best books for elementary school readers to keep them engaged and wanting more.

Being You

When you’re a kid, it can be hard to be who you really are. In the picture book, Being You, two children learn that they have a choice about how the world sees them. They can accept the labels that others put on them, or they can let their inner selves shine. Together, these kids find people who see their value and help them face the world on their own terms. Author Alexs Pate delivers a poetic message of love and optimism for the future to today’s children.

The Perfect Birthday Recipe

Summer birthdays can be lonely, but not when you have great friends like Beavers! This year Tortoise, Bird, Rabbit, and Squirrel insist on baking Beaver’s birthday cake, but Beaver isn’t so sure. He is the ultimate perfectionist and would rather do it himself, following the recipe exactly. Will Beaver’s nitpicky ways ruin his birthday and his friendships? The Perfect Birthday Recipe is the fourth and final story in Katy Hudson's best-selling set of seasonal picture books, including Too Many Carrots, A Loud Winter's Nap, and The Golden Acorn.

The Golden Acorn

Whoosh! Squirrel takes off at full speed through the autumn leaves. But pump the brakes, because this year The Golden Nut Hunt race it is a team event. Squirrel reluctantly enlists her friends and is not impressed. Will Squirrel's competitive spirit take over or will she learn how to be a team player? Best-selling author Katy Hudson (Too Many Carrots and A Loud Winter's Nap) proves that winning isn't everything in this energetic picture book about friendship, teamwork, and forgiveness -- and that's something to go nuts about!

A Loud Winter's Nap

Best-selling author Katy Hudson's charming picture book will have everyone excited for winter! Every year, Tortoise sleeps through winter. He assumes he isn’t missing much. However, his friends are determined to prove otherwise! Will Tortoise sleep through another winter, or will his friends convince him to stay awake and experience the frosty fun of winter?

Too Many Carrots

Rabbit loves carrots. Maybe a little too much. In fact, his carrots are crowding him out of his cozy burrow. When his friends offer to help — that’s just asking for trouble. TOO much trouble! This charming and lovingly illustrated picture book shows how friendships get us over the rough spots in life, even if the going gets a little bumpy!