Please sign-in to...
  • Save Orders
  • View Saved Orders
  • View Order History
  • Save Wish Lists
  • Move Wish List to Cart
  • and more!
 

Do not show this message again.

 
Recently Viewed Products
 

You have not viewed any products recently.

 
 
My Footprints
My Footprints
Alternative Views
  • There are no alternate images available for this product.
 
Reviewed Titles New Releases
Capstone Editions

My Footprints

by Bao Phi
Illustrated by Basia Tran

Every child feels different in some way, but Thuy feels "double different." She is Vietnamese American and she has two moms. Thuy walks home one winter afternoon, angry and lonely after a bully's taunts. Then a bird catches her attention and sets Thuy on an imaginary exploration. What if she could fly away like a bird? What if she could sprint like a deer, or roar like a bear? Mimicking the footprints of each creature in the snow, she makes her way home to the arms of her moms. Together, the three of them imagine beautiful and powerful creatures who always have courage - just like Thuy.

 
ISBN978-1-68446-000-7
PublisherCapstone Editions
BrandCapstone Editions
Age Level6-8 Years
Reading LevelGrades 1-3
GenreRealistic Fiction
SubjectFamily
Trim Size9 x 11
Page Count32
LanguageEnglish
Copyright2019
Price
$19.99
* Available on 9/1/2019
 


 
 

Reviews

Kirkus Reviews

". . . .the book sends a powerful message about the strength children can draw from their own cultural heritage. With this story about two moms joining their daughter through child-centered play to face adversity as one, Phi explains in his author's note, he hopes to nurture the marginalized and challenge "systems of harm." . . .Both a meaningful effort toward inclusion and a solid conversation starter about bullying." - Kirkus Reviews

July 1, 2019

Sarah Park Dahlen - Associate Professor, MLIS Program, St. Catherine University

"This beautiful story about a young Vietnamese American girl’s resilience will give courage to readers everywhere. Tran’s bright illustrations communicate Thuy’s hopeful spirit and the power of her imagination. Readers who love Ezra Keats’ The Snowy Day and Zetta Elliott's I Love Snow! will love My Footprints!" - Sarah Park Dahlen

March 27, 2019

Collette Morggan - Owner, Wild Rumpus

"A shout-out to self-empowerment and a love song to family, this book leaves footprints of its own!" - Collette Morggan

March 21, 2019

 

Holly Weinkauf - Owner, Red Balloon Bookshop

"I found so much to love in this book. The story starts off with a little girl, Thuy, being bullied. But it doesn’t focus on the bullies or the bullying. Instead we see Thuy’s brilliant and rich imagination, her two moms surrounding her with understanding and love, and Thuy finding her own courage. This beautiful story reminds us that there are many ways to be strong." - Holly Weinkauf

March 17, 2019

A Fuse 8 Production, School Library Journal - Elizabeth Bird

"I was really intrigued by how the book equated mythical creatures made of different parts to families made of different kinds of people. Also, extra points for it being a two moms book where that’s important but not the sole focus. Probably one of the smarter anti-bullying picture books I’ve seen this year. Celebrates the “unexpected combination of beautiful things.”" - A Fuse 8 Production, School Library Journal

March 14, 2019

Pat Zietlow Miller - New York Times bestselling

"Thuy and her family's footprints will walk right into your heart. A loving look at imagination, confidence and courage." - Pat Zietlow Miller

March 7, 2019

 
Bao Phi

Bao Phi

Bao Phi was born in Vietnam and raised in the Phillips neighborhood of South Minneapolis.  He is an author, a poet, a community organizer, and a father.

Go to the Author’s Page →

 
OK